This Halloween, The Ghost of Elections Future Appears

Bookmark and Share   I’m not much for Halloween. I never really was. Even as a child I felt kind of silly getting into costumes and I was even more uncomfortable going door to door trick or treating. I was uneasy knocking on doors and asking for things. As I grew up, that unease relaxed as I no longer felt the need to humor adults by doing it and showing some sort of glee for the Halloween tradition.

Not long after that though, I found myself almost liking going door to door, but by that time it was for far better reason than candy. It was for votes. When it came to getting petition signatures or getting out the vote, although I still wasn’t completely comfortable, I felt more confident with what to me was a greater purpose for bothering people than just asking for candy corn or Milky Way bars.

But as I grew older, I found myself amid my college crowd of friends and grown ups who were not wandering the streets in search of candy, but were still into the whole Halloween costume concept. Conforming to society based upon a certain degree of peer pressure which created a desire to not be the dork totally left out of the social scene during October’s last weekend, I again succumbed to the season traditional. But this time, as an adult, gone were the Planet of the Apes masks or Werewolf costumes. Being of a political mind, I normally resorted to what came natural to me ………. political oriented costumes.

One year, when I was a leader within a county Young Republican organization, my home state of New York was running a most horribly embarrassing candidate for Governor. He was a multimillionaire, originally from Canada, and his name was Pierre Rinfret. Pierre was a joke. He was abrasive, ignorant, agenda-less and just an all around mistake that was inflicted upon Party regulars by Party elders. In many ways, he was a lot like current New York Republican gubernatorial candidate Carl Palladino. That year, angry and embarrassed by my Party’s decision, I ran a write-in campaign for governor which gave people a choice to write-in the name of my local Republican state senator instead of voting for Mario Cuomo or Rinfret. Then, the weekend before the election, came the YR’s Halloween Party. The costume I chose to don was my standard work attire and accessories …… a suit and tie and my attaché case. But in addition to that was a curly haired rainbow wig, a clown nose and a name tag that read “Pierre Rinfret – Bozo the Candidate”.

Since then I continued to try and avoid Halloween as much as possible, especially the costume thing. But whenever it was unavoidable, I chose to craft a costume of a political nature. The last time I could not avoid the festivities, I found a red velvet, …… make that imitation velvet, ….. ladies devil costume, got cheap, low healed, red ladies shoes, contoured the outfit with imitation breasts, and then bought a Hillary Clinton mask which I proceeded to alter with the addition of horns to its scalp. The heals were tough to pull off but the bitchy attitude and point I wanted to make were easy.

Now, as another Halloween approaches, I find myself faced with possibly being unable to get out of Halloween this year too. To be honest, as usual I really don’t want to go through the hassle of making an ass out of myself and looking like a fool, but apparently far too many of us adults like the practice. So if I absolutely can’t get out of this year’s particular commitment, once again, being consumed by the all important elections of 2010, which are just three days away, I have decided to go as the “Ghost of Elections Future”.

For this I will wear a simple, but macabre, grim reaper-like black robe and hood that hide as much of the face as possible and in both arms I will carry a tombstone …….. cheap Styrofoam tombstones that you can still find in any toy or party store. On these synthetic stones, I will imprint two names. One will bear the name “Reid” and the other will read “Pelosi”.

Now I know some of you will consider this ‘politically incorrect’ and see it as a breach of sensitivities. Some of the more liberal among us will accuse me of suggesting that Pelosi and Reid be killed. To be clear, that would be ‘dead’ wrong. I wish not for anyone other than Osama bin Laden, Mahmoud Ahmadinejad and mebers of Al Qaeda and the Taliban to die. I wish no Democrats any ill will and to those who would try to claim my costume does convey such a sentiment regarding Harry Reid and Nancy Pelosi, I will say, get over yourselves and get real. It is a joke which does not suggest their deaths but represents the end of their political reign of ridiculousness in Washington. I will also remind them that as supporters of Pelosi and Reid, I would expect that they of all people should know a joke when they see it. After all, Pelosi and Reid are two of the biggest jokes we have seen in decades and after two years in complete control of government, this Halloween, it is easy to see that they were no “treat”, because with them in charge, we were all tricked.

So if you see the “Ghost of Elections Future” at this Saturday night’s biggest Halloween bashes, instead of getting insulted, just take it as a reminder of things to come and start getting ready for the scariest of all days for Democrats this year ………Election Day.

Bookmark and Share
Leave a comment

Filed under politics

Leave a Reply

