REJECTED SUPERBOWL AD REALLY MAKES YOU THINK TWICE

antabortionBookmark and Share    There are many topics I would like to discuss today.

Republicans have a new political leader.

Our government has increased our debt and used the cover of economic crisis to rob us blind by allocating hundreds of billions of dollars to things that will do anything but stimulate and improve the economy.

Somalia continues to become a stronghold of and safe haven for terrorism and with little experience President Barack Obama faces many dire challenges for our nation.

Yet today I choose to discuss something a little less complicated.

Life.

Yeah, if only life was was less complicated, but as we know, it is not.

Neither is the question of when life begins.

Personally, as a man, I know one thing.  I will never be in the position that a woman will be in. My body will never be the shelter for a life. That is a fact that has constantly made me leery of staking a position on abortion.

I am not God and I do not for a moment think that I have all the answers so I will not tell you that life begins at conception. I will not tell a woman what she can do to her own body, yet I am still uncertain about whether it is right to abort a life at any stage.

I do know that I am glad that I shall not have the responsibility to make that decision on my own.

I can’t help but feel that if I were a woman and I had an abortion, I might always carry a sense of guilt around with me. I can’t help but wonder if I would be wracked by the guilt of thinking that I possibly snuffed out a human life.

I don’t know. I just don’t know.

What I do know is, that when in doubt, I personally feel I would rather err on the side of life than death.  One is more final than the other and one offers more hope and promise than the other.

I have always felt that way and I often think about it. I often wonder if I were a legislator, and I had the responsibility to place a vote on the issue, what would I do?

Would I go with my conscience and err on the side of life by prohibiting abortion?

Would I pull an Obama and vote “not present” or maybe, as a representative, I would just vote the will of the majority of the people that I was representing.

I wish I were confident to say which way I would vote, but as of now, I am not sure.

However I recently came across this commercial.

NBC refuses to air it during the Superbowl, which the organization behind the ad tried to buy time for.

NBC calls the advertisement too political. 

Right or wrong, the ad is powerful and their refusal to air it will probablty give it more attention than they wanted.

I ask you to take a look at it.

If you have any sense of compassion, like me, than you might just be brought closer to a decision……like me.

Photobucket

punchline-politics

 

The word politics is actually a Latin derivative.

It comes from two words……..

Poly meaning many…….

…..and Ticks meaning blood sucking insects.

Bookmark and Share

1 Comment

Filed under politics

One response to “REJECTED SUPERBOWL AD REALLY MAKES YOU THINK TWICE

  1. Pingback: CBS Screwed By Two Men Kissing; Rejected Ad Stirs Controversy « Politics 24/7

Leave a Reply

